## MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

## TITLE PRODUCER LICENSES FROM NON-RECIPROCAL STATES

The Maryland Insurance Administration has identified the following states that are not reciprocal with Maryland for title insurance licensing:

Alabama	Delaware	New Mexico	Texas
Alaska	Florida	Nevada	Utah
Arkansas	Iowa	Oregon	Washington
Arizona	Idaho	Pennsylvania	West Virginia
California	Kentucky	South Dakota	-
Connecticut	Massachusetts	Tennessee	

New York is reciprocal for title insurance agent, not sub licensee.

Rev. 06/2019

#### The State of Maryland does not accept applications from producers who submit a designated home state license.

#### **Initial Individual Applicants**

Initial individual applicants from non-reciprocal states requesting a title insurance producer license are required to complete pre-licensing course and pass the Maryland exam. PSI is the MIA's current vendor for Pre Licensing and Examination services. You may view approved pre-licensing providers and courses, schedule an examination, or download a copy of the Maryland Candidate Information Bulletin on PSI's website, <u>www.psiexams.com</u>. Special arrangements can be made to take the Maryland exam at the applicant's nearest PSI test center by calling PSI's toll free number 1-800-733-9267.

Once licensed, non-resident title producers from non-reciprocal states will be required to complete 16 hours of Maryland continuing education in order to renew their Maryland non-resident title producer license. The Maryland continuing education requirement is in addition to any continuing education required by the home state.

The vendor for Maryland continuing education is Prometric/Vertafore. The website link is <u>https://www.sircon.com</u>. The 16 hours of continuing education consists of 3 hours ethics and 13 hours of title and/or property & casualty courses. Non-residents are required to maintain copies of their course completion certificates and submit them at renewal in order to verify compliance with Maryland continuing education.

### Licensed Non-resident Title Producers

Effective January 1, 2018, title producers who have already been issued a Maryland non-resident title license from non-reciprocal states will be required to complete 16 hours of Maryland continuing education in order to renew their Maryland non-resident title producer license. The Maryland continuing education requirement is in addition to any continuing education required by the home state.

The vendor for Maryland continuing education is Prometric/Vertafore. The website link is <u>https://www.sircon.com</u>. The 16 hours of continuing education consists of 3 hours ethics and 13 hours of title courses. Non-residents are required to maintain copies of their course completion certificates and submit them at renewal in order to verify compliance with Maryland continuing education.

# All initial Title Insurance Producer applicants must submit a paper NAIC Uniform Application along with the \$54 initial license fee and additional required documents. (Please see the Title Insurance Producer section on our website - www.insurance.maryland.gov for additional information, required forms and templates)

• Bond Requirement - Applicants for a Title Insurance Producer's License are required to submit a \$150,000 blanket surety bond or letter of credit and a \$150,000 blanket fidelity bond.

## MARYLAND INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION PRODUCER LICENSING

- Title Insurance Producer Independent Contractors (TIPIC) must submit an Affidavit of Title Insurance Producer Independent Contractors.
- Employees of Insurers must submit an employment verification letter on Insurer letterhead.

Licensees may renew by completing and submitting the NAIC Uniform Renewal Application via paper. Individual applications may also be submitted through NIPR (<u>www.nipr.com</u>).

Paper applications are normally processed within 7-10 business days and should be mailed to:

The Maryland Insurance Administration Attn: Producer Licensing 200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, Maryland 21202